Orlando DUI Penalties Attorney
In Florida, the penalties for a DUI conviction are serious. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is not a traffic violation, but a criminal offense that will leave those found guilty facing serious punishment. The DUI penalties an individual will face depends on many factors, including the defendant's age, whether it is a first or subsequent offense, criminal history, and whether the defendant was charged with DUI while driving on a CDL, or commercial driver's license. At Adams & Luka, our Orlando DUI lawyers know how severe the penalties for a conviction are; we work diligently to prevent a conviction, having charges dismissed or reduced when possible.DUI Penalties in Florida
When you understand how serious the DUI penalties are in the state of Florida, you can more easily understand why it is so critical to obtain the legal guidance of an experienced Orlando defense attorney and fight the charges. At a minimum, most defendant's face:
- Driver's license suspension
- Substantial fines
- A permanent criminal record if found guilty
- Increase auto insurance premiums
Individuals who are younger than 21 will face driver's license suspension for a BAC or blood alcohol concentration of more than .02%, however other penalties may apply for a BAC of .08% or higher in those younger than 18.Orlando DUI Penalties for Specific Charges
The DUI penalties below apply to motorists who are 21 years of age or older and who are convicted for driving under the influence:
First DUI offense - Fines of up to $1,000, up to one year probation, maximum of six (6) months in jail, license suspension for up to one year, vehicle impoundment for ten days, possible community service, possible installation of ignition interlock device at your cost.
Second DUI offense - Fines of up to $2,000, maximum of nine (9) months in jail, vehicle impoundment for 30 days, maximum one year probation, license suspension for up to one year. Additionally, if it is a second offense within five years, driver's license will be suspended for five years and you will face a minimum of ten days in jail.
Third DUI offense - Fines of up to $5,000, maximum of one (1) year in jail with a minimum of 30 days in jail, maximum one (1) year probation, vehicle impoundment for ninety (90) days, minimum of ten (10) years driver's license revocation. A third DUI conviction within a ten-year period will result in felony DUI.
Fourth DUI offense (felony DUI) - Minimum fine of $5,000, maximum of five (5) years in prison, driver's license revoked permanently, maximum of five (5) years probation.
In the event you are convicted for driving under the influence while a minor was in the vehicle or your BAC was greater than .15%, fines and jail/prison time increase substantially.Contact Adams & Luka Now
As you can see, the criminal penalties for a DUI conviction in Florida are severe. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious crime across the nation, punished harshly in most states as lawmakers and groups such as MADD work to crack down on those who get behind the wheel while impaired. At Adams & Luka, we know that all people are humans, and as humans we all make mistakes we later regret. If you have been arrested or charged with DUI, give us a call now for unsurpassed legal guidance and representation. We offer a free consultation, so call (407) 872-0307 or (352) 787-2101 now.